Sector Hub

SHS Practice Awards

Hosted at the biannual Homelessness NSW Conference, The NSW SHS Practice Awards recognise the depth of skill and expertise of Specialist Homelessness Services (SHS) staff and services their continued dedication and hard work in a constrained resource environment.

Voting, nominations and details for SHS Practice Awards 2022

More information to come in late 2021.

Award Categories and 2020 Winners

Excellence in ending homelessness – adults: Missionbeat, Mission Australia

Excellence in ending homelessness – domestic and family violence: Carrie’s Place Specialist Homelessness Services, Carrie’s Place Domestic Violence and Homelessness Services

Excellence in ending homelessness – groups with specific needs: Inner City Service for Women with Complex Needs (ICSWCN) B Miles Womens Foundation, Community Restorative Centre, Detour House

Excellence in ending homelessness – young people: Inspire, Motivate, Empower – ending youth homelessness Mission Australia Canterbury Bankstown Youth Service (CBYS)

Leading Aboriginal practitioner: Melvyn Samuelsson, Support Worker Mission Australia

Leading practitioner: Donina V’aa, Manager-Linking Hearts Multicultural service Muslim Women Association

Consumer achievement award​: Simon Byrnes

Consumer achievement award​: Gina Faasoula

Consumer achievement award​: Jane Matts

Consumer achievement award​: Gabriela Soares

Lifetime achievement award: Di Glover, Yes Unlimited

Lifetime achievement award: Hiam Nahas, Muslim Women’s Association

Award Categories and 2018 Winners

Excellence in ending homelessness – adults: The Boarding House Outreach Project at the Newtown Neighbourhood Centre​

Excellence in ending homelessness – children and families: Vincentian House at St Vincent de Paul Society NSW

Excellence in ending homelessness – diverse groups: Inner City Service for Women with Complex needs partnership between B Miles Women’s Foundation, Community Restorative Centre and Detour House Inc.

Excellence in ending homelessness – young people: Broken Hill Young People’s Homelessness and Housing Support Service​ at Mission Australia

Leading practitioner award​: Lara Samway from Community Restorative Centre

Lifetime achievement award: Feda Rifai from the Muslim Women Association & Laurie Maher from Coast Shelter

Consumer achievement award​: Talie Star


Skip to content